The Austro-Hungarian Region

Verona and Venice
Budapest (Pest)
Budapest (Buda)

For our convenience in creating this web page, we are clustering our travels through northern Italy, Slovenia, Slovakia, Croatia, Hungary and Austria under the umbrella of the Austro-Hungarian Region, which is no longer a real single entity.

The Austro-Hungarian Empire refers to a dual monarchic nation state that existed from 1867 to 1918 until it self-dissolved at the end of World War I. It was comprised of Austria, Hungary, Romania, parts of Italy and most of Switzerland, the Czech Republic, the Ukraine and the former Yugoslavia. The history of this region reflects the changing influences of the Habsburg royal family, the Prussians and the Soviet Bloc. Since the time of the Hungarian Revolution and the break-up of Yugoslavia, the region has blossomed and is now a travellers' delight rich with natural beauty, historic charm and wonderfully friendly and creative people. 

Click here to return to Berndts' Travel Site Main Page